A Psalm (by Linda)

During 2011, to help me meet my post-a-day challenge, I posted a Psalm every Sunday. I may do that one some Sundays in 2012, too, because it was a popular posting theme. I think these posts were popular because the Psalms are such wonderful prayers that they are a blessing to all who read.

But yesterday it occurred to me that I would like to write a psalm of my own. That is, to write a poetic prayer in the nature of a psalm. As I lay in bed last night this psalm formed in my mind, and so I offer it to you, and to my God, this Sunday morning.

Psalm LK

O Lord, my God
I bring You praise
and worship You
Your love and mercy
are forevermore
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

O my Lord God
I intercede for
the anxious and the lost
Calm their fears
and light their way
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

O Lord, my God
I plead for
the injured and sick
Heal their wounds
and cure their disease
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

O my Lord God
I beseech You
on behalf of the proud
Humble them before
Your mighty power and love
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

O Lord, my God
I bring my petitions
before Your throne
You know my needs
before I even speak
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

O my Lord God
My Savior and Redeemer
I offer my thanksgiving
for each answered prayer
for who You are
In the morning
on my knees
In the evening
Lying on my bed

1/10/11 Update: Decided to share this post over at dVerse Poets Pub for Open Link Night (which, oddly, is during the day).

14 Comments

Filed under Faith, Jesus, Life, Poetry, Psalms

14 responses to “A Psalm (by Linda)

  1. Awesome! I would not have thought to try and write my own Psalm, but it’s a wonderful idea, and you have done it quite nicely! I have been dwelling on and writing about prayer a lot lately and in fact just wrote one of my daily encouragements about the Lord’s prayer a few minutes ago. Much to my surpise (not really) and delight, when I came to read poems, the first one I read was a prayer poem, and the next was yours. Coincidence! I think NOT! God is SO good!

    I also write poetry and short stories and novels, and here is my poem for this weeks open link night: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/the-sun-came-up-again-4/

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! I don’t think it was a coincidence, either. ;) I can’t really take credit for the idea to write my own psalm – it came to me while I laid in bed Saturday night, and since I didn’t feel like getting up I prayed that God would help me remember it in the morning. And as you said, God is so good – He did help me remember. I will come check out your blog, too. I always like to find other good Christian bloggers. Peace, Linda

  2. how gloious is your psalm! I love the refrain. nicely done.

  3. nice…this is an excellent psalm…and you ran the gambit on those on your heart…to me that is a psalm that heart cry…humble us all…

  4. A song by Linda on the lyre! Wonderful idea. I’m sure heaven is smiling.

  5. Wonderful write, nice imagery and like the repetition really made it flow that much more.

  6. The last four lines are so powerful… I’ve set them to music in my head.

    “You know my needs before I even speak.” Thanks for that important reminder. Hugs… : )

    • Linda, I wish I could hear the music! I’m glad you liked this. This is one that just sort of wrote itself – or more appropriate, it is one the Holy Spirit wrote for me. :) Peace, Linda

  7. This is so beautiful and rendered from your heart, Linda. What an offering . . .thank you! God bless you and your prayers and heart for Him.

    • Deb, I’m so glad you liked it. I just thank God that He helped me remember it this morning. I laid in bed last night “writing” it in my head, but wasn’t feeling good so I didn’t get up and right it down. Peace, Linda

  8. Pingback: A Psalm (by Linda) | Linda Kruschke's Blog | Nail It To The Cross

  9. Ann

    Thank you for sharing, Psalmist Linda
    Very lovely!
    Blessings
    ann

Leave a Reply

