Psalm 118 – Blessed Is the Lord

Today is Palm Sunday, the day we celebrate the Triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem less than a week before His trial and crucifixion. So it seemed appropriate to post a portion of Psalm 118. Verse 26 is what the people shouted as Jesus entered on the donkey, as recorded in Matthew 21. I find it interesting that this same Psalm talks about the Lord’s right hand doing mighty things and being lifted high, a foreshadowing of Jesus being lifted high on the cross before the week was out. May this wonderful prophecy be a blessing to you this Holy Week as we journey towards the saving grace and resurrection of our Savior.

Psalm 118

 1 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
   his love endures forever.

 15 Shouts of joy and victory
   resound in the tents of the righteous:
“The LORD’s right hand has done mighty things!
 16 The LORD’s right hand is lifted high;
   the LORD’s right hand has done mighty things!”
17 I will not die but live,
   and will proclaim what the LORD has done.

21
I will give you thanks, for you answered me;
   you have become my salvation.

 22 The stone the builders rejected
   has become the cornerstone;
23 the LORD has done this,
   and it is marvelous in our eyes.
24 The LORD has done it this very day;
   let us rejoice today and be glad.

 25 LORD, save us!
   LORD, grant us success!

 26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD.
   From the house of the LORD we bless you.
27 The LORD is God,
   and he has made his light shine on us.
With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession
   up to the horns of the altar.

 28 You are my God, and I will praise you;
   you are my God, and I will exalt you.

 29 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
   his love endures forever.

I am a Jesus Freak, and I don't care who knows it. I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, daughter, and friend. My blood family is only part of the larger family of Christ that I belong to. I love to write, especially about my dear Savior.

Share

4 Responses

  1. Now Ann has me thinking . . .what will I do with Him? All that I can think of is to worship Him, to love Him.
    I love how this begins and ends with giving thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever. His love even endured the cross. Thank you so much for doing Psalm Sunday’s Linda. You bless us with His word.
    love, deb

  2. Thank you, Linda

    Psalm Sunday and Palm Sunday together 🙂

    “May this wonderful prophecy be a blessing to you this Holy Week as we journey towards the saving grace and resurrection of our Savior.”
    I’m thankful I was born after the story was written so I can look forward as the other chapter unfolds. For those who had seen Him do miracles, I imagined they expected to see Him to pull one out of the bag but I can’t imagine the horror they may have felt in watching Him go through all that – for us.

    Peter denied Him. Judas betrayed Him. What will I do with Him? I have no palm fronds to lay before Him this morning so I will lay my heart instead.

    The story of Easter has to be the truth I live daily … (What have I done with Him?)

    [ Thanks for the great commentary and scriptures. Did you intend to provoke my thoughts so? 😉 ]

    Blessings right back at ya!
    ann

    • Ann, If I’m not provoking someone to think more deeply about Jesus, then what would be the point of blogging? It might as well be you. 🙂 I like your question, “What have I done with Him?” I am happy I did have palm fronds to wave at church today to welcome Him, and to sing Hosanna! I’d share mine with you if I could! But I suspect that He is more pleased with our hearts than a palm frond anyway. Peace, Linda

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Another Fearless Year

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading