Jorge’s Party Salsa for Recipe Friday

Last weekend we were camping with a bunch of family, some of whom just came out for the day and others who stayed the night at the campground.

On Saturday night I was on for making my Texas Skillet Dinner for everyone and we bought enough ingredients for a triple batch. That’s a lot of skillet dinner!

So when Jorge and Carrie showed up with a huge bowl of salsa in the early afternoon I was worried no one would be hungry for dinner. I was reminded by my sister-in-law that they weren’t eating because they were hungry but because there was food. She was right. Even though all the salsa was eaten, my triple batch of skillet dinner was also pretty much gone by the end of dinner.

The best part is that I got the salsa recipe from Jorge along with his permission to post it here for you all. This was some of the most delicious chunky salsa I’ve ever eaten. So here it is (with the name I came up with).

Jorge’s Party Salsa

Ingredients:

8 large avocados
10 medium tomatoes
1 red onion
1 sweet pepper (optional)
1 bunch of fresh cilantro
5 jalapeño peppers, seeded
4 limes
Salt and cumin to taste

Directions:

Finely chop onion, sweet pepper, cilantro, and jalapeño peppers. Place in a 6 quart bowl. Squeeze juice from limes into the bowl. Chop tomatoes. Add chopped tomatoes without all the juice to the other ingredients. Chop avocados and add to other ingredients. Sprinkle salt and cumin to taste. Stir all ingredients lightly to combine. Serve with corn chips.

Tip for avocados: To cut avocados into chunks, slice all the way around to divide avocado in half and pull apart. Insert the tip of the knife in the center of the pit and pull it out. Score each avocado half down to the skin in both directions, then run knife between the edge of the skin and the flesh to remove the chunks. By cutting them this way you avoid getting avocado mush all over the cutting board.

I am a Jesus Freak, and I don't care who knows it. I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, daughter, and friend. My blood family is only part of the larger family of Christ that I belong to. I love to write, especially about my dear Savior.

Share

2 Responses

    • But they are so good for you! I didn’t used to be a fan of avocados either, until I learned I was alergic to dairy and could no longer have cheese or sour cream on my tacos. But I can understand your aversion. 😉 Peace, Linda

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Another Fearless Year

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading