The Honor of the King

I’m jousting for His honor
I’m jousting for my King
I willingly wear His armor

As bride I wear His ring
It is He who defends
Of His great love I sing

To the throne He ascends
The vict’ry isn’t mine
When the enemy offends

With my King I’ll dine
Once He has won the fight
We’ll feast on bread and wine

All hail His strength and might
All hail His grace and light

 

The prompt at dVerse Poets Pub today was revealed a day early. We’re having a medieval tournament to celebrate the passing of the Pub keys from Brian and Claudia to Bjorn. So I’ve taken the tournament theme and written a terza rima sonnet of sorts about jousting.

17 Comments

Filed under Faith, Jesus, Life, Poetry

17 responses to “The Honor of the King

  1. My thought is that it must be terrible to be a woman nowadays, always expected to be sharp. We are living in a terrible time.

    Like

  2. Really good metaphors, Linda.

    Like

  3. Closing lines are gems…

    Like

  4. What a great way to celebrate ! God bless!

    Like

  5. A inspiring song of chivalry one can read here.. a fairy tale ending when knight and fair lady.. when the fight of ringed finger for love so fair..:)

    Like

  6. Great rhythm in this… I especially loved, All hail His strength and might
    All hail His grace and light… so true

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is beautiful. I especially love the closing lines.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A lovely write. Feasting on bread and wine – that communion with the King who fought all our battles for us. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. made me smile…the feasting on him while with him..
    just be sure to wear the full armor…and realize in the end
    he has won the fight…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. i def. like the feasting on bread and wine – and i love that he fought that fight already for us…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The metaphor and the form works excellently in your favor here Linda.. wonderfully done..

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I like that you used the medieval images in a personal way. Sadly during the Crusades many battles were fought in his name but not for his name.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. ” Once He has won the fight
    We’ll feast on bread and wine ” — I especially like these lines, Linda. And I do think He will prove victorious over all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

