Like Santa Ana Winds

The Poetic Winds of March are blowing over at dVerse Poets Pub today. Kathleen Everett has challenged to write about the wind or to use the wind as a character or presence. I decided to combine my two favorite winds in this poem. The first is the Santa Ana winds of my youth in California. Although they could be dangerous because they fueled wildfires, I loved them.

Like Santa Ana Winds

As the arid Santa Ana winds
sweeping across
the hot California landscape
embrace me
warm my skin and to my core
feels like heaven

So does Your Holy Spirit
sweeping through
my cold inner heartscape
embrace me
warm the depths of my soul
promises heaven

25 Comments

Filed under Faith, Life, Poetry

25 responses to “Like Santa Ana Winds

  1. Though I never experienced the Santa Ana, in my mind it linked to the East Wind (which I know too well). That too is warm and dry and always rises in me an unexplainable longing for something undefinable. Never thought about faith in this context, and maybe I should. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the two parts of your poem..warm the depth of my soul..we all need that bit of warmth it brings comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, this is lovely! A little bit dangerous is exciting. Enjoyed this much!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I sent my comment by email.

    Like

  5. I like that your winds have a location…which is tricky to do with wind! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. very full of grace 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Friends of mine get the full brunt of the Santa Anas and have had to evacuate their homes in the past due to fire….there is something otherworldly about winds..they have their way, cannot be contained, but affect our lives tremendously..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Like this. ..especially as the Greek word for wind is also the word for spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely and inspirational !

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nice comparison….the winds on Pentecost, the holy fire consuming and cleansing us. Very very nice indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Fantastic parallels for what really moves us! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. come like a rushing wind
    come light my fire again….
    have you way/have your way

    sorry a bit of singing from me today…
    nice analogy…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Those winds can be comforting on a hot landscape ~ I also like the spiritual warmth of the second part ~ Thanks for participating ~

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Glenn Buttkus

    The ten years I lived in S.CA., I enjoyed the warm winds, warmish water, but the tinder-dry brush & annual wildfires rivaled the cuddling with the curse. I do like your comparisons though; didn’t dig the flash-flooding on the desert either.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. The warmth of those winds.. how wonderful to be embraced like that.. I like your comparison..

    Liked by 1 person

  16. nice… loving his warm loving embraces…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. What a wonderful comparison, Linda! Very apt.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Hmmm, warm winds… that’s a new sensation for me, I have to admit.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Linda, being swept up by the Santa Anas and the Spirit – what a wonderful poem combining these two experiences. Thanks for joining in the prompt – K

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

