An Odd Kyrielle

After writing my first Kyrielle yesterday, I apparently had Kyrielle rhyme schemes on the brain when I went to bed. Once the lights were out, the first stanza of one with the rhyme scheme in which the refrain does not rhyme started forming in my mind. When I had repeated to myself four or five times I realized it wasn’t going to let me sleep, so I flipped on the light and write it down in the notepad I keep on my nightstand. It’s kind of silly, but silly is good sometimes.

The handwritten version

The handwritten version

I wrote the next two stanzas mostly in the shower this morning. Then when I read it to my son, he wanted to know if the refrain had to end with purple. I said, “I picked purple because it is a word that doesn’t rhyme with anything.” He replied, “You could have used silver. Or orange.” So I decided to mix it up and alter the refrain to include all three of these non-rhyming colors.

An Odd Kyrielle

I think that I shall never see
A Kyrielle as odd as thee
With rhyming lines one, two, and three
And a fourth that ends in purple

I fear that I shall never write
A sonnet with the meter right
But can pen lines poetic, light
And a fourth that ends in silver

I love that I shall ever rhyme
I see with Thee and climb with chime
Ending three lines with words like time
And a fourth that ends in orange

 I’ve shared this for Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub. I added the picture of the handwritten version because Bjorn is talking about pictures and poems together. This is the best I’ve got on that score.

33 Comments

Filed under Life, Poetry

33 responses to “An Odd Kyrielle

  1. Ha, ha. Sometimes words come to me and prohibit sleep too. Often times, if I ignore their urging, they will leave me and go some place else.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Have No Fear | The Fearless Linda Kruschke

  3. You know, Linda, sometimes it is fun to write something a bit different. Your kyrielle made me smile. I like the way your poetry seems to be expanding in so many different directions lately!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Can’t get a sonnet’s meter right! One must be familiar with musical score apparently. Kyrielle is more forgiving!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I knew about orange and purple, but had not realized until I read this that silver is another non-rhyming word. Fun piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. BTW, I am sure your streets (referring to your comment on my blog) are the same as yours. People are people.

    Like

  7. Playful (and finally not mushy religious!)
    Fun style and rhyme play.

    Like

  8. hypercryptical

    Lovely smiley words!
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am always happy to stumble upon something I hadn’t known before. There are so many poetic forms and discovering new ones is always a treat. Kyrielle is a new one for me, I may have to dabble.

    I agree with X in that your end lines being rather random became the constant and even deeper meaning contributing to the whole. Well done. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is AWESOME. I love the first stanza.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. a delightful read and colorful too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Your Odd Kryielle is a delight! Purple, orange and silver.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I like the splashes of color mixed in with the rhymes. This was fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ha! I love this! I tend to get rhythms & rhyming patterns stuck in my head too! I love your son’s suggestion and how you worked it all into this piece. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I really enjoyed this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dawn V. Cahill

    Reblogged this on Dawn V. Cahill and commented:
    More light verse–credit to Fearless Linda.

    Like

  17. I liked this and I liked how the poem kept nagging at you and you finally had to write it down. Nothing silly about that!!! It happens to me at times as well. Nice rhythm to this and good rhyme. I’ll never write a limerick either, myself. But based on this, I’d think you would write an excellent sonnet.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Nice rhyming verses ~ Hey, you can rhyme alright, smiles ~

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Aster

    This is wonderful:
    “And a fourth that ends in purple
    I fear that I shall never write
    A sonnet with the meter right
    But can pen lines poetic, light”

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh Goodness.. the science of poetry
    can become so complex
    i forget to write..
    forget the rules
    and never learn them..
    for me is lucky as rules are my thing
    so much
    of life in ruling it..
    but anyway.. instructions can be fun…:)

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Great – big smile here.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Your kyrielle does what I was taught to do, to play with the form, and your methodology describes the process which often leads to me writing a poem. Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Love that you used those non-rhyming colors..they added just the right imagery for me..and sometimes we have to write about the writing itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. X

    Ha. I happen to love your end lines. Having little to do with anything, they become the everything. I doubt I will ever write a real sonnet either – way too much constraint for my favor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shadowleavesonlakeann

      Nice to read different poetic forms and then to enjoy them! Great job and loved the verse
      about writing! Thank you for sharing your writing notes too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

