My Dear Son

Twenty-one years ago today
You came into our lives
You brought love for each day
By tens and twenties and fives

For you I’m writing a rhyming verse
Because that is the good kind
Though I know you’re not averse
To stories intertwined

I am so proud of who you are
The man who you’ve become
Your taste in music is a bit bizarre
Your humor will help overcome

Your compassion and generosity
Are traits I much admire
How you love your silly kitty
Is something to inspire

I could go on and on, you know
Because you are my dear son
On you blessings may God bestow
Until your many days are done

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Life, Poetry

2 responses to “My Dear Son

  1. What a sweet ode to your son. Has he read it yet?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

