Missing You

It never leaves
the pain, the heartache
of losing one so dear

Or one who should have been dear
but for youth and shame
that kept me
from truly knowing
and being known by you

I hid so much from you
I didn’t let you be there for me
as a mom should be

It’s not your fault
I know that now
but then I was afraid
I would disappoint you

Even at 23 your love
seemed scarce
but was only hidden
behind my own doubts and fears

If you were here today
I would tell you how much I love you
I’d share the love of Jesus with you
tell you how He opened my eyes
to your love that I could never see

I would celebrate with you
I’d make you your favorite pecan pie
with fresh whipped cream for your birthday
just as you always made my favorite
lemon meringue for my birthday
We’d marvel that you made it 90 years

But you didn’t, so we won’t
I’ll just miss you like I always do

___________________________________

Shared for Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub. Head on over and see what others have to share.

34 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Jesus, Life, Poetry

34 responses to “Missing You

  1. Oh Linda, I feel for you so much. Such an honest and heartfelt poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LZ

    This is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Knowing and being known by you.” Difficult with offspring. –A lovely, reflective poem from the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Poignant and lovely. Thanks for sharing such tender feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There is longing, sadness and regret in your words….but mostly love.
    ((((hugs))))

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Let’s hope that in a “mother’s wisdom” she knew… Very moving poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A moving personal share Linda ~ Here’s a cyber hug from me too ~

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m not sure that anyone can ever match up to the love a mother has and the many ways she shares it…lemon meringue pie and so much more.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, a heart-breaking, heart-healing poem, thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for sharing this and we send you a warm hug from Scotland xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This one aches with regret, yet love seems to have been there all along.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. And a hug fro me, too, Linda.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks for sharing this. If it’s any consolation, lemon meringue is my favorite too!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is so tender such pain in losing someone before you really know each other.. I saw your comment on Grace poem so I thought it was connected, but I might be wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I don’t know if a hug is welcome, but if so, please accept mine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

