An Ode to Moss Landing

I wrote this poem in the guest book at Moss Landing, Ocean Shores, Washington. I took a picture of it to keep a copy and decided to share it today for Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub.

________________________

An Ode to Moss Landing, June 23–25, 2017

I wrote this poem for the royal “we”
Gail, Sharon, and Linda (me)
We enjoyed our stay at Moss Landing
Our schedule quite undemanding

The weekend began with long drives
I prepared dinner as the others arrived
Feasting occurred, shrimp, scallops, and more
Seven-layer bars that we adore

Lazing in the warm summer sun
Girls’ weekend is so much fun
The lovely weather such a treat
Time together can’t be beat

Cozy hot tub an added touch
We really don’t ask for much
Warm and soothing relaxation
Preamble to subsequent tasty libations

Hard cider, wine, and caramel liqueur
For morning coffee, strong we prefer
It’s not important what’s in the cup
We’re here to share stories and catch up

We’ve been friends for 33 years
We’ve laughed, loved, and shed many tears
Here’s to at least 33 more
Looking forward to adventures galore

Thanks for the memories added to the rest
In this cute cabin we were blessed
We don’t know what next year will bring
Friendship that lasts is our favorite thing

22 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Life, Poetry

22 responses to “An Ode to Moss Landing

  1. Cheers to your enduring friendship and here’s to many more adventures together!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great! I love that you wrote it in the guestbook.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Time spent with friends is truly blessed
    And summer cabins bring out the best
    A wonderful poem of friendship and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If I had to write an ode, the best I could come up with are these two lines:

    “It was the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day
    I was out choppin’ cotton, and my brother was balin’ hay…”

    The rest escapes me, but as you probably can figure out, my ode is not really original. Oh well! I just wanted to be a part of the conversation and think you’re da bomb!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I actually don’t recognize your ode, so you could have told me it was original and I would have believed you. But being the honest guy you are, I know that’s not your style. 😉

      Like

  5. This touched my heart. For over 30 years, three of my friends and I enjoyed a girlfriend getaway, just as you describe. We shared so much. Two or our foursome are now gone. Treasure your times. You never know which will be the last.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is great, so positive. It sounds like a great weekend. Old friends are so special.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. friends do bring out the best of us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nice poem to a long-term friendship. May it continue.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a nice gift to leave in a guestbook, and what a glorious thing to share with friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh Moss Landing is perfect sounding to me. Loved your rhymes and rhythm. But you didn’t post a pick of your poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh, they need to frame that and hang it up! Love the things that prompt us to write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

